

Australian Barrel Horse Association

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 4th SEPTEMBER 2016. TAMWORTH NSW

Meeting opened 7.22pm

Present: Adele Edwards, Maree Oddy, Michelle O'Neill, Suzanne Dicks, Michelle Peters, Sheree Bright, Pat Collins, Jayne Lilley, Amanda Tielen, Jodie White, Ann Foster, Alana Pitts, Sam Pratt, Kylie Gallagher, Lisa McCarthy, Wendy Batchelor, Sue Bartlett, Nat Hutchinson, Vanessa Atkins, Tui Gordon, Cheyanne Whitwell, Maree Prow, Lyn Collins, Bec Heggaton, Amber Burns, Michelle Bush, Cathy Raaen, Kerry Holder, Vicki Schiller, Julie Breed, Tamara Walker, Lisa Camarda, Gina Toparis, Tayla Bright, Jordy Hutchinson, Josie Atkins, Brook Byers, Paul Towner, Berniece Edwards, Shanton Smith, Vicki Austen, Tony Azzopardi, Lana Carney Wicks, Julie Flanagan, Vicky Hunt, Naomi Bennett,

Apologies: Dallas Pearce, Shona Tribe, Casey Tribe, Danny Pacey, Danielle Foster, Wendy Caban, Jane Stagg, Jane Keenan, Cathrina Hutton, Kellie Heyne

Minutes:

Minutes from the 2015 AGM were read and found to be true and correct. Moved: Cathy Raaen 2nd: Suzanne Dicks carried

Business Arising:

The ABHA was registered for GST purposes from 1st January 2016

Rulebook was updated as per minuted. – Naomi Bennett noted the Divisional Awards were still in the rulebook. These rules to be removed by Suzanne Dicks.

Stallion incentive has been implemented as an annual finals incentive.

Presidents report:

See attached report Moved: Michelle O'Neill

2nd: Suzanne Dicks

carried

Election of Officers:

Adele Edwards declared the 4 outgoing positions vacant.

Maree Oddy - Vice President

Directors up for re-nomination: Michelle Peters Sheree Bright Jane Stagg – retired during term of office.

Vice President: Maree Oddy is re-elected as unopposed Vice President Director nominations: Michelle Peters, Bridgette Hasting, Kylie Kemp, Dallas Pearce, Tamara Walker Julie Flanagan.

Due to the number of nominations received exceeding the number of vacant positions, a vote by Ballot paper was held.

Meeting was suspended and ballots tallied by Kerrie Holder and Cathy Raaen.

Michelle Peters 63 Votes Bridgette Hasting 30 Votes Kylie Kemp 11 Votes **Dallas Pearce 70 Votes** Tamara Walker 62 Votes Julie Flanagan 56 Votes

Adele Edwards thanked retiring Directors Sheree Bright and retired director Jane Stagg and welcomed returned Director Michelle Peters, Dallas Pearce and Tamara Walker as incoming Directors for a 2 year term on the Board.

<u>Secretary's Report:</u>

Jayne Lilley presented secretary's report as attached: Moved: Joan Burchell 2nd: Vicki Schiller Carried

Treasurer's Report:

Jayne Lilley presented the ABHA Financial Statements audited by Prows, Perrin and Twomey, Auditors Ballarat Vic. - PPT

Balance as of 30th June 2016 Balance as of 30th June 2016 \$64, 677.86 Invested \$40,000.00 Total \$104,677.86 See attached audited report.

Moved: Jayne Lilley 2nd: Susan Keenan

Carried

Election of the 2015-2016 ABHA Auditors:

Motion:

To employ PPT Accountants, Ballarat Victoria, to continue to be the ABHA's auditors for the 2015-2016 Financial year.

Moved: Sheree Bright 2nd: Adele Edwards Carried

General Business

Cathy Raaen put forth for discussion the option for affiliates to offer ½ second splits. A general discussion followed and the board will review at a later date.

The Board announced the change to the 2017 National Finals qualifying criteria.

CLASSIC: The Classic horse must be 4, 5 or 6 years old. The HORSE is the qualifier and must compete in 3(three) ABHA Affiliated Events at 3(three) separate ABHA Affiliated days, minimum of 1(one) qualifying event must be an ABHA Affiliated Classic during the qualifying period of 1st July 2015 – 30th June 2016. Qualifying combinations can be

Qualifying combinations can be

3 ABHA Affiliated Classic Events

2 ABHA Affiliated Classic Events & 1 Open Divisional Barrel Race or

1 ABHA Affiliated Classic Event & 2 Open Divisional Barrel Races.

Horse is permitted to turn 7 on 1st August 2017 and compete in the Classic event at the finals if the horse qualified during the said qualifying period. The Horse may be ridden by any rider, but said rider must be a current financial member of the ABHA

Change to the 2018 National Finals qualifying criteria:

DIVISIONAL:

To qualify for the divisional event at the National Finals, it is the RIDER who qualifies and rider must have ridden in 1(one) ABHA Open Divisional event at 5 (five) separate ABHA affiliated days. Juniors may compete in Divisional Barrel Race provided they have ridden in 1(one) non-junior event at 5 (five) separate ABHA affiliated days during the qualifying period of 1st July 2015 – 30th June 2016. Once rider is qualified, they may enter any amount of horses in the 4D as they wish.

The Board announced the introduction of a classic horse registration card for members wishing to qualify for the Patsie Holder Memorial Classic event at the finals. The card is to be filled out in the horse's registered name and signed by affiliate at each qualifying event.

General discussion was held in relation to the changing of the qualifying criteria.

2017 ABHA National Finals to be held 5th-10th September 2017 at AELEC.

Meeting Closed 8:39pm

Adele Edwards President

Jayne Lilley Sec/Treas

ABHA .

PO Box 1190 Waubra VIC 3352

Email – secretary@abha.com.au